Preliminary Proceedings Committee

It is imperative that the Council’s systems for the handling of complaints against doctors are robust, effective and fair. To this end, Ms Anne Carrigy has been appointed Chair of the Preliminary Proceedings Committee which considers initial complaints.


  • Ms Anne Carrigy(Council member) (Chair)
  • Ms Kathleen Beggan (external)
  • Ms Katharine Bulbulia (Council member)
  • Dr Rita Doyle (Council member)
  • Dr Joseph Duignan (external)
  • Dr Anne Jeffers (external)
  • Dr Michael McGloin (external)
  • Dr Angela McNamara (external)
  • Ms Margaret Murphy (Council member)
  • Dr Ailis Ni Rian (external)
  • Dr Freeda O'Connell (external)
  • Dr Patrick O'Carroll (external)
  • Professor Diarmuid O'Donoghue (external)
  • Dr Colm O'Herlihy (Council member)
  • Professor Mark Laher (external)
  • Dr John Barragry (Council member)