Medical Council News


Results of Medical Council Election Announced

Six registered doctors elected for the new term of 2018 - 2023

Wednesday, 21st March 2018: Following the close of the Medical Council election process today the independent Returning Officer, Dublin County Sheriff Mr Fergus Gallagher has announced the results of those elected.

In total 21 candidates contested for six positions over the six panels in the election process to join the other 19 members who will make up the 25 lay majority council for the new Medical Council term which begins on the 1st June 2018. The remaining 19 members will be made up by nominees from various other health bodies, regulators, the Minister for Health and the Minister for Education.

The following have been deemed elected by the returning officer:

Specialist Division – Anaesthesia: Dr Suzanne Crowe elected
Dr Crowe is a Consultant in Pediatric Intensive Care Medicine working in Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin (OLCHC).

Specialist Division - Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Dr Aoife Mullally elected
Dr Mullally is a Consultant Obstetrician & Gynaecologist working at the Coombe Women and Infants University Hospital, Dublin and the Midland Regional Hospital, Portlaoise.

Specialist Division - Pathology or Radiology: Dr Thomas Crotty elected
Dr Crotty being a medical practitioner registered or able to be registered in the Specialist Division in relation to pathology or radiology, having been the only candidate nominated in this category, the returning officer has deemed Dr Crotty elected to the Medical Council unopposed.

Specialist Division - Public Health Medicine: Dr Anthony Breslin elected
Dr Breslin is a Specialist in Communicable Diseases and Environmental Health in North West and is the current Vice President of the Medical Council.

One medical practitioner, not being a consultant, practising medicine in a hospital: Dr Erica Maguire elected
Dr Maguire is a non-consultant hospital doctor currently on the Psychiatry Basic Specialist Training Scheme.

One registered medical practitioner, not falling within any of the other categories: Dr Marcus De Brun elected
Dr De Brun is a GP who has a practice in Dublin where he works as a sole practitioner.

Speaking on the announcements of the results, Medical Council CEO Mr Bill Prasifka said “I’d like to congratulate those doctors who have been elected to the Medical Council for the new term.
Members of the Medical Council have an important role to play in promoting patient safety by working together to ensure high standards amongst doctors registered in Ireland. These past five years have been a very positive time for the Medical Council under the outgoing Council, with several significant changes taking place during their tenure, and I look forward to working with the newly elected members to ensure we continue that important work.”

Statement from Returning Officer, Mr Fergus Gallagher, announcing the results of election for appointment to the Medical Council

“As returning officer, I today (21st March 2018) announce the results of the elections of medical members of the Medical Council. The total number of doctors who voted in the election was 2,528.
The results of the online ballot were as follows:

Specialist Division - Anaesthesia – (Total poll -1,723)

  • Dr Suzanne Crowe (Registration Number: 19051) - 669
  • Dr Eleanor O’Leary (Registration Number: 000778) - 588
  • Professor Ellen O’Sullivan (Registration Number: 17468) - 466

Dr Suzanne Crowe is deemed elected.

Specialist Division - Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Total poll -1,532)

  • Dr Mary Catherine Therese Doyle (Registration Number: 4345) 574 votes
  • Dr Aoife Mullally (Registration Number: 23115) 958 votes

Dr Aoife Mullally is deemed elected.

Specialist Division - Pathology or Radiology

Dr Thomas Crotty (Registration Number: 009645) was elected unopposed.

Specialist Division - Public Health Medicine (Total poll 1,529)

  • Dr Anthony Breslin (Registration Number: 11124) 1,015 votes
  • Dr Paul Quigley (Registration Number: 2191) 514 votes

Dr Anthony Breslin is deemed elected.

One medical practitioner, not being a consultant, practising medicine in a hospital (Total poll 1,737)

  • Dr Erica Maguire (Registration Number: 411015) 601 votes
  • Dr Michael Ita (Registration Number: 407576) 221 votes
  • Dr Tashfeen Siddiq Ali (Registration Number: 402150) 533 votes
  • Dr Eamon Francis (Registration Number: 371688) 382 votes

Dr Erica Maguire is deemed elected.

One registered medical practitioner, not falling within any of the other categories (Total poll 2,082)

  • Dr Roy Mark Browne (Registration Number: 12635) 113 votes
  • Dr Dawar Mahmood Siddiqi (Registration Number: 18116) 151 votes
  • Dr Sohail Rasool (Registration Number: 16781) 303 votes
  • Dr Shane O’Hanlon (Registration Number: 188795) 242 votes
  • Dr Sumi Dunne (Registration Number: 23439) 253 votes
  • Dr Malachy Gerard Coleman (Registration Number: 3464) 159 votes
  • Dr Marcus De Brun (Registration Number: 128888) 639 votes
  • Dr Cormac Duff (Registration Number: 417089) 77 votes
  • Dr Eleanor Mary Corcoran (Registration Number: 3617) 145 votes

Dr Marcus De Brun is deemed elected.

The six candidates have been elected, subject to appointment by the Minister for Health.

In accordance with the regulations, as returning officer I have given written notice to every person elected of their election and have supplied the Minister and the Medical Council with a list of the persons elected.” concluded Mr Fergus Gallagher.